Toyota Motor Corporation Vehicles Dominate J.D. Power and Associates 2012 Vehicle Dependability Study

TORRANCE, Calif., February 15, 2012 – Eight Lexus, Toyota, and Scion models captured segment awards in the 2012 J.D. Power and Associates Vehicle Dependability Study, a performance equal to all other vehicle brands combined and more than twice as many as the runner-up nameplate.

The study also found:
“We are extremely pleased that not only did we win awards in eight of the 14 model segments, but that in two segments we finished one-two and made the podium in 12 segments overall”, said Jim Lentz, President and Chief Operating Officer Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. 
 
2012 Vehicle Dependability Study performers by segment
Segment
Ranking
Model
Problems/100
Sub-Compact Car
1
Toyota Yaris
97
2
Scion xD
113
Compact Car
1
Toyota Prius
80
2
Toyota Corolla
93
Compact Crossover SUV
3
Toyota RAV4
121
Compact Multi-Purpose Vehicle
1
Scion xB
100
Compact Sporty Car
1
Scion tC
123
Entry Premium Car
1
Lexus ES350
81
Midsize Car
3
Toyota Camry
105
Midsize Crossover SUV
3
Toyota Highlander
111
Midsize Van
1
Toyota Sienna
123
Midsize Premium Crossover SUV
1
Lexus RX350
85
Large Premium Car*
1
Lexus LS460
72
Large Car
2
Toyota Avalon
100
Large Pick Up
1
Toyota Tundra
108
Lexus Nameplate
1
 
86
Toyota Nameplate
3 (tie)
 
104
Scion
5
 
111
Premium Brands Industry Average
129
Non-Premium Brands Industry Average
144
Additional examples of Toyota’s commitment to the highest standards for quality, safety, reliability and retained value include:
 
*The Premium Car segment is not represented in the 2012 VDS due to the small sample size for the segment. 

####

Note to Editors: Electronic images of Toyota, Lexus and Scion products are available online via our news media web site http://www.toyotanewsroom.com.
Media Contacts:
MEDIA CONTACTS:
Safety and Quality Communications
Brian R. Lyons (310) 468-2552 brian_lyons@toyota.com
John Hanson (310 468-4718 john_hanson@toyota.com

Toyota Product Communications
Greg Thome (310) 468-3279 greg_thome@toyota.com
Sam Butto (310) 468-7728 sam_butto@toyota.com
Moe Durand (310) 468-1601 maurice_durand@toyota.com

Lexus Public Relations
Bill Kwong (310) 468-3764 bill_kwong@lexus.com

Scion Public Relations
Craig Taguchi (310) 468-3282 craig_taguchi@scion.com

Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. Media Line (310) 468-5297