Toyota Motor Corporation Outperforms Industry in the J.D. Power and Associates 2012 Initial Quality Study

Lexus Repeats as the Number One Overall Nameplate
Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Wins Its Eleventh Award


TORRANCE, Calif., June 20, 2012 – Toyota and Lexus vehicles captured five segment awards and five Toyota manufacturing facilities in Japan and North America won plant awards, including one Gold, in the 2012 Initial Quality Study (IQS), more than any other automaker in both categories. 
 
The study also found:
“We are very pleased with this year’s Initial Quality Study honors”, said Ray Tanguay, Senior Vice President and Chief Quality Officer Toyota Motor North America, Inc. “These accolades echo our enduring commitment to quality, value, and customer satisfaction.”

2012 Initial Quality Study performers by segment

Segment
Ranking
Model
PP/100
Sub-Compact Car
1
Toyota Yaris (total)
79
Compact Car
1
Toyota Corolla
59
2
Toyota Prius (total)
75
Compact Crossover SUV
2
Toyota RAV4
84
3
Toyota FJ Cruiser
86
Compact Multi-Purpose Vehicle
2
Prius v
100
3
Scion xB
103
Compact Sporty Car
3
Scion tC
127
Entry Premium Car
1
Lexus ES350
69
Midsize Crossover SUV
3
Toyota Highlander (total)
86
Midsize Pickup
3
Tacoma
95
Midsize Van
3
Toyota Sienna
106
Midsize Premium Crossover SUV
1
Lexus RX (total)
67
Large Car
2
Toyota Avalon
87
Large Premium Car
1
Lexus LS (total)
50
Lexus
1
 
75
Toyota
8
 
88
Scion
26
 
117
Premium Brands Industry Average
91
Non-Premium Brands Industry Average
103
Industry Average
102


2012 Plant Awards

Region
Award
Assembly Line
Model(s)
PP/100
Americas
Gold
Cambridge South, Ontario (TMMC)*
Lexus RX350
24
Bronze
Woodstock, Ontario (TMMC)*
Toyota RAV4
27
Asia
Silver
Kyushu 2, Japan (TMK)
Lexus ES, IS, RX
24
Bronze (tie)
Fujimatsu, Japan (TABC)
Toyota Prius
28
Bronze (tie)
Tsutsumi 2, Japan
Toyota Prius
28
* Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada (TMMC) has received more J.D. Power and Associates plant awards (11), including more gold awards (6), than any other North American plant in the industry.
 
Additional examples of Toyota’s commitment to the highest standards for quality, safety, reliability and retained value include:

Note to Editors: Electronic images of Toyota, Lexus and Scion products are available online via our news media web site http://www.toyotanewsroom.com.
Media Contacts:
Safety and Quality Communications
Brian R. Lyons (310) 468-2552 brian_lyons@toyota.com
Katy Soto (310) 468-8068 katy_soto@toyota.com
John Hanson (310) 468-4718 john_hanson@toyota.com

Toyota Product Communications
Greg Thome (310) 468-3279 greg_thome@toyota.com
Sam Butto (310) 468-7728 sam_butto@toyota.com
Moe Durand (310) 468-1601 maurice_durand@toyota.com

Lexus Public Relations
Bill Kwong (310) 468-3764 bill_kwong@lexus.com
Allison Takahashi (310) 468-5315 allison_takahashi@toyota.com
Michael Kroll (310) 468-2261 michael_kroll@toyota.com

Scion Public Relations
Craig Taguchi (310) 468-3282 craig_taguchi@scion.com

Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. Media Line (310) 468-5297